Finding Time to Prep- Part 2

Finding Time to Prep- Part 2

In part 1 we discussed

  • Making a list and prioritizing
  • You will do what you see as most important first
  • Stored food is money in the bank
  • Prepare in incremental steps
  • 2 meals a month out of food storage
  • You can’t do it overnight
  • Finishing other projects

Today we have more things to discuss.

  • Gardening is easy.  If you do it a little at a time.  I know gardening is hard work.  I have 5 raised beds and the perimeter of my backyard.  The thing I have tried to do is cultivate the garden to allow me to do as little work as possible.  I do this by mulching heavily and composting.   I am a lazy gardener.  I do not weed very often, heck weeds are part of nature right?  Try to come home from work and spend 10-15 minutes in the garden.  Pull a few weeds, check on and water the plants.  If you truly love to garden than by all means spend time, but if you are overwhelmed by the amount of preps you have then allow the garden to “grow”.
  • Get out and exercise.  Take a walk around the block.  Breathe fresh air and get to know your neighbors.  Think of exercise as community building.  See what your neighbors are planting.  Ask them gardening questions.  Last year by just walking around my neighborhood I was able to trade pears (from my immense pear tree) for other goodies.
  • Prepping builds assets while everyone else is building debt.  As you start to prep understand you are building wealth.  Those thing you can touch and feel are true wealth.  Things which hold their value are true wealth. Eliminating your debt is wealth. Food, trees, land, water, guns, knowledge.  These things are assets and wealth.  When everyone else is buying things on credit, sit back and be happy you are accumulating wealth.
  • Start building your bug out bags for both home and car.  These are great cheap things to do while in the early stages.  Have a bag for home for each family member and one for each car.  You never know what may happen.  I use my bag in my car at least once a month.  I am thirsty so I get some water or I need a flashlight.
  • Think of how long it took you to become unprepared.  It will take time to become prepared.  This has been my number one piece of advice for myself.  I have to realize it took me almost 40 years to become unprepared.  I figure it will take me at least 5-10 years to become prepared.  I know I will never be fully prepared for everything, but I will rest better knowing I am doing what I can.
  • Plan, Plan, Plan.  Write a plan and continue to revise it.  A plan allows you to focus on what is important in an objective manner.  You will be able to work as a unit with clear goals.  Along with your plan I recommend you to work on one project at a time.  Working on multiple projects can become distracting, and shows no clear focus on the most important project.  So if you can focus on one thing at a time, do so.
  • Educate yourself.  Become informed as possible.  Read the news, find new skills to learn, read opposing opinions, teach a skill to someone.  The part between your two ears is the most valuable survival item you have.  Fill it to the brim with good stuff.

I hope this has been of help to you.  If you have any other suggestions for topics please let me know.

What has helped you find time to prep?

Prepping 101
Making Life’s Road a Little Smoother

Leave a Reply

