Eating Healthier for a Better Life

How do you eat healthier?

There was an article at nwitimes.com about eating healthier.  Let me sum up.

DON’T EAT CRAP!!!

How about them apples.  It goes on to chide the Western diet with all of its processed food.  In the end you will need to eat things that are good for you.

Here is my theory on what to eat.  I think you should eat things you would grow or eat which taste good raw.  Here is a list.

  • Vegetables
  • Fruit
  • Meat

Things you would not grow to eat

  • Grain
  • Beans
  • Pasta
  • Soda or other sweetened drinks
  • Anything processed- Processed not mixed together.  Salad-GOOD,  Twinkie-BAD

I know this may be a little contradictory to conventional memes, but  I have given this some thought.  I think if I had to provide for myself(and I currently do not provide everything for myself),  those are the things I would eat.  You may think why are grains on the do not eat list?  Grains take lots of energy without much result.  You grow, cut head off, thresh, winnow, all of the other things to get not much in return.  Where as an animal does a great job of converting the things you can not eat into something you can.

I think eating more fresh food will do the body good.  It is important to get a varied diet of all the above great things.  By the way I lost 30 lbs. just eating veggies, fruit and meat in 3 months.

I know some may be saying what about exercise.  I say go get some.  Do somethings humans were supposed to do.  Move around, garden, walk, hike.  Just avoid repetitive motions (i.e. push-ups or something similar).  By the way I did not exercise.  I have a herniated disc pressing on my sciatic nerve which makes it hard to walk much less work out.  If I can, you can.  Just try for 30 days.

Prepping 101

Making Life’s Road a Little Smoother.

Leave a Reply

