Are You Overwhelmed?

Today’s post is about me.

I am totally overwhelmed.  I have too many things to do and not enough time to do them.  I have a normal job which takes up way too much time.  I have this blog which I love to do and am committed to doing.  I also have a wife who works and three kids.  So how am I going to fix this problem?

  1. Make a list of all the things I need to do and when they should be finished.  I am using OmniFocus for Mac (it is also available for iPhone and iPad).  It has done wonders for getting things out of my head.
  2. Setting Limits-  I think part of being overwhelmed is I have made the due dates too soon for many of the items.  I will go in and change them this weekend.
  3. Prioritize-  Making sure you are working on the most important things is probably the hardest for me, since I want to do the things I like or I think are more important.  Sometimes this makes for an unharmonious marriage (something to be avoided at all costs).
  4. Eliminate-  Get rid of or delegate tasks.  Sometimes we take on too many things.  Delete those which are not important.
  5. Organize work day into bigger blocks of time- ideally 60-90 minutes.
  6. Breathe deep-  Think about breaking up projects into bite size morsels.  By doing this you will reduce the enormity of the project into doable portions.
  7. Say no- This one is hard for me, but I need to learn to say I don’t have time right now for that.
  8. Take a 5 minute break-  This helps me to let go of all the things which I need to do, so I can refocus.  Sometimes getting up from the desk and visiting a coworker is all I need.
  9. Take a mini vacation-  Go home and leave work at work.  This is hard to do when self employed, but it is something you have to do every once in a while.
  10. Remember all your blessings-  Every once in a while I sit back and think of all the great people, family, friends,  and heck , you followers of my writing.  It puts a smile on my face and allows me to continue.

Remember we are trying to smooth the road, not eliminate all the potholes.

What do you do to reduce stress?

Prepping 101

Making Life’s Road a Little Smoother

2 responses to “Are You Overwhelmed?

  1. Great tips! Right now, I’m focusing on prioritizing and cutting items from my list. It’s so easy to load up the to-do list with things that really aren’t that important. When I’m overwhelmed is the best time to look at the list and be ruthless, because that’s when I most need some freedom. Thanks for the post!

Leave a Reply

